Mastermind

Timing&Action 時機&行動

 

F
By Illustrator, Koala Bear

I guess many depression patients may be like me, came to a breaking point to seek suicide not only at a certain timing but longed for it repeatedly. I want to start off with what people can do in action if they happen to want to help a depression patient, depending on the stage the patient is at.

我想很多抑鬱症患者可能會像我一樣,來到了一個臨界點,不僅在一定的時機尋求自殺,而是反复渴望它。我想說一下如果你碰巧想幫助抑鬱症患者,可以根據病人的程度去做。

 

If someone is like the old me, being in the critical stage of burning with this fire of committing suicide, please don’t say these which I heard from others saying to me back then:

如果有人像以前的我,在關鍵階段之中有團要去自殺的火,請不要說這些我當時從別人口中聽到的話:

  • ‘You can keep going/ You can do it’. -> I no longer want to do anything, and you are still pushing me?
  • 「你可以繼續下去的/你可以做到的。」 – >我已經不再想做任何事了,你還在迫我?

 

  • ‘You will go to hell but not heaven if you kill yourself.’ -> This is just so provoking, are you telling me that even God wants to condemn me to hell?
  • 「如果你殺了自己你會去地獄,不是天堂。」- >這可真是如此發人深省,你告訴我,上帝也要處罰我到地獄?

 

  • ‘How can you do this to your parents?’ -> This is why I want to die, to release my parents’ burden to have to take care of me.
  •  「你怎麼能這樣對你的父母呢?」- >這就是為什麼我想死,釋放我父母要照顧我的負擔。

 

  • ‘Do you think you are the only one who is under so much pressure? I do too. -> Fine, you are strong enough to face stress and I am not.
  • 「你認為你是唯一有這麼大壓力的人嗎? 我也是呢。」 – >很好,你可以堅強地面對壓力,我不可以。

 

There are many other things, but the principle idea is that, don’t say much. No jokes, because any random words can encourage the patient to decide to commit suicide immediately. The thing to do is to stay beside the patient, if ok then hug him.

還有許多其他的東西可以說,但原則思路是,不說許多話就好了。不是說笑,因為任何的話已可以鼓勵病人決定立即自殺。要做的事情是留在患者身邊,如果OK,擁抱他吧。

 

What is the best to say? Just repeatedly tell the patient, ‘I love you, I care for you, I won’t leave you.’ This makes the patient believe that he should live to get indulged by the love he receives. Then when the patient is getting willing to listen to you, do it like how you would treat a little baby, ‘What about we try to see a doctor together and see how it goes?’

說什麼最好?就反复告訴病人,「我愛你,我在乎你,我不會離開你。」這使患者相信他應該活下來,去接受他人的愛。然後,當患者越來越願意聽你的,像你會如何對待一個小寶寶地說,「怎麼樣,我們嘗試一起去看醫生,看看是怎麼一回事?」

 

If the person is at a more mild stage, when he is open to talk to someone about his negative feelings, then you can be more direct to say things like, e.g. ‘Trust me that you will get better, and I am going through this with you’. Does it make sense? If not please leave me a comment.

如果病人是在一個更好的階段,是可以跟人談談自己的負面情緒,那麼你就可以更直接說,例如:「相信我,你會好起來的,我要陪你一起度過」。有說明到嗎?如果沒有,請給我留下評論說說。

 

By the way, don’t ever leave the patient with the chance of being alone ‘cos you never know when just unexpectedly, he wants to end his life without further thoughts or hesitation. Like in the news lately, quite a great number of Hong Kong students killed themselves, and sadly no one was in time to stop each of them at that very moment.

順便說一句,千萬不要給予病人可以單獨自己一人的時間。因為你永遠不知道是在什麼沒有預想到的時候,他有進一步的想法或猶豫就想結束自己的生命。像最近的新聞,相當大量的香港學生成功自殺,可悲的是沒有人在那一刻關鍵的時間去止住他們。

❤ Lala